Skip to content home : browse : advanced search : preferences : my favorites : about : help  login  

add to favorites : reference url back to results : previous : next
Zoom in Zoom out Pan left Pan right Pan up Pan down Maximum resolution Fit in window Fit to width Rotate left Rotate right Hide/show thumbnail
John F. Reynolds Post No. 44, G.A.R., Fargo, Dakota
John F. Reynolds Post No. 44, G.A.R., Fargo, Dakota
TitleJohn F. Reynolds Post No. 44, G.A.R., Fargo, Dakota
Date of Originalbetween 1884 and 1889
CreatorHaynes, F. Jay (Frank Jay), 1853-1921
Creator RolePhotographer
DescriptionPortraits of eighty six members of the John F. Reynolds Post No. 44, Grand Army of the Republic mounted in a montage. None of the men are identified.
Ordering InformationConsult:
General SubjectSocial Life & Customs
Subject (LCTGM)Montages
Organization NameGrand Army of the Republic. John F. Reynolds Post No. 5 (Fargo, N.D.)
LocationFargo (N.D.)
Cass County (N.D.)
North Dakota
United States
Item Number2001.89.1
Format of OriginalAlbumen prints
Dimensions of Original22 x 29 cm.
Publisher of OriginalHaynes Studio (Fargo, N.D.)
Place of PublicationFargo (N.D.)
Transcription"John F. Reynolds Post No. 44. G.A.R. Fargo Dakota Compliments of F. Jay Haynes" - printed on front of print.
NotesTitle supplied by staff.
Biography/HistoryThe John F. Reynolds Post No. 44, Grand Army of the Republic, Fargo was founded on February 22, 1884. Early members include: Horace Austin, Harrison Allen, Charles E. Alderman, Edward D. Barker, Charles W. Buttz, Edward B. Brockman, Nelson Brown, W. F. Ball, George Cooper, P. P. Chasey, William T. Collins, E. St. Julien Cox, A. Cantieny, John H. Coler, Bernard Cloutier, A. W. Edwards, R. E. Fleming, John Grady, M. W. Green, John W. Gregg, D. H. Getchell, Edward C. Gearey, H. Grass, James R. Graham, LaFayette Hadley, Mathias Hammes, James W. Huntoon, A. E. Henderson, S. J. Hill, Frank H. Irons, John M. Johnson, P.W. Kennedy, Fred K. Keye, William Kroll, E. A. Lyman, Lucius A. Lincoln, Lyman Loring, George M. Munger, Bernard Martin, Austin C. Marshman, Elliott S. Miller, Charles H. Mitchell, E. C. Northrop, Christian C. Norgert, William A. Power, N.B. Pinkham, E. B. Paxson, Aad Peterson, Richard Redmond, John D. Riley, Anton O. Rading, Samuel G. Roberts, William C. Shurlock, C.W. Sutter, William L. Sheaff, C. P. Sloggy, Richard H. Skuse, S. E. Stebbins, Horace N. Smith, Michael Sullivan, Noah N. Tyner, Gorton T. Thomas, Lowell Taft, W. E. Tanner, George Woodruff, John Young, Isaac E. West, Charles T. Clement, A. E. Wood, Oscar Barrett, Charles Farrell, William McGee, John Boyd, Alexander Gamble, William T. Clark, Lewis Redding, A. C. Jordan, Franklin Paine, James McCarty, John Wadleigh, William D. Putman, William W. McIlvaine, William H. Sheetz, A. S. Bates, S. G. McGill, E. Ellison, James Kenney, A. M. Cox, Benjamin F. Balch, John L. Smith, George VanHorn, Robert Miller, Samuel W. Townsend and Henry Capeheart. - names taken from Descriptive Book No. 1 John F. Reynolds Post No. 44 Department of Dakota Grand Army of the Republic (Mss 1053, box 1, Folder 6).
Repository InstitutionNorth Dakota State University Libraries, Institute for Regional Studies
Repository CollectionRonald Olin's Fargo, N.D. Photograph Collection 2001
Collection Finding AidConsult:
Credit LineInstitute for Regional Studies, NDSU, Fargo (2001.89.1)
Digital IDrs010924
Original Sourcephotographic print
add to favorites : reference url back to results : previous : next
powered by CONTENTdm ® | contact us  ^ to top ^