Skip to content home : browse : advanced search : preferences : my favorites : about : help  login  
add to favorites : reference url back to results : previous : next
Zoom in Zoom out Pan left Pan right Pan up Pan down Maximum resolution Fit in window Fit to width Rotate left Rotate right Hide/show thumbnail
Sargent County Courthouse, Forman, N.D.
Sargent County Courthouse, Forman, N.D.
TitleSargent County Courthouse, Forman, N.D.
Date of Original1961-10-01
CreatorBurkum, Lester, 1912-2001
Creator RolePhotographer
DescriptionView of the front of the two storey Sargent County Courthouse in Forman, N.D. There are columns on each side of the main entrance, and a dome roof in the center.
General SubjectPolitics & Government
Subject (LCTGM)Buildings
Government facilities
Subject (AAT)Beaux-Arts
Organization NameSargent County Courthouse (Forman, N.D.)
LocationForman (N.D.)
Sargent County (N.D.)
Item NumberS-142
Format of OriginalSlides
Color images
Dimensions of Original5 x 5 cm.
Transcription"Sargent County Courthouse 1908, KCHRM II, Forman, N.D., Oct. 1, 1961, Pop. in 1960, 530"--Handwritten on slide.
Biography/HistoryForman is the county seat of Sargent County. The courthouse was built in 1910 and was added in the National Registry of Historical Places in 1980. It was designed in the Beaux Arts style by the architects Buechner & Orth. In 1997, Sargent County commissioned renowned artist Del Iron Cloud to recreate the murals on the ceiling of the rotunda dome in the courthouse. There are four separate painting depicting various themes of Sargent County's history. These paintings are visual reminders of the county's history and well worth a stop at the courthouse to view them.
In the spring of 1879 a government survey party led by E. H. Antwerp came into the county at a point, which is now called the Sisseton Hills. At that time there were no white settlers, by the next year some white people, mostly Norwegians and Germans had come into the area and staked claims. From 1880 to 1890 most of the pioneers moved into the county following the building of the Soo, Great Northern and Northern Pacific railroads.
Sargent County was created from the southern half of Ransom County, and named in honor of H. E. Sargent, who was an official of the Northern Pacific Railroad. The railroad built its line into Milnor in 1883, across the county and into Oakes by 1900. On July 16, 1883 Territorial Governor Ordway appointed the first commissioners and designated Milnor as the county seat. The following year the first county election was held and Forman was chosen as the county seat. In 1920 the county's population peaked at 9,655.
Bibliographic ReferenceInformation found at: and
Repository InstitutionManfred Heritage Museum
Repository CollectionLester Burkum Slide Collection
Credit LineManfred Heritage Museum, Manfred, N.D. (S-142)
Rights ManagementCopyright status unknown.
Ordering InformationManfred Heritage Museum
Visit the Manfred History and Preservation, Inc. website: - go to Guestbook.
Mailing address: Manfred History and Preservation Inc., PO Box 321, Harvey, N.D. 58341
Open May 1- September 30, on Tuesday- Saturday 10am-4pm.
When open, Museum phone number (701) 547-2564.
Manfred project historian, Audrey Solheim, e-mail address,
Winter phone numbers that are published in their newsletter for staff who could open the museum on special request are 701-547-3123, 701-324-2091, and Pam Norstedt at 701-324-2027.
GrantNHPRC SNAP Grant 2008-2009, NAR08-RC-10021-08
Digital IDdmS142
add to favorites : reference url back to results : previous : next
powered by CONTENTdm ® | contact us  ^ to top ^